New Poll
Miscellaneous
Links
Search
End Ass Hat
login

New site? Maybe some day.
Posting Anonymously login: [Forgotten Password]
returntothepit >> discuss >> Music theory question by eddie on Dec 7,2006 11:08pm
Add To All Your Pages!
toggletoggle post by eddie  at Dec 7,2006 11:08pm
I've been pretty much learning music theory off and on since i started playing. My question is where do i go after learning all the diatonic stuff. I'm just kinda playing around with chromatic alterations now, but i'd like to go into something different.

toggletoggle post by brian_dc  at Dec 7,2006 11:16pm
whole tone and diminished/diminished whole tone scales are a lot of fun. in fact, there are all sorts of jazz scales that are great to work with. You might also consider learning all the modes. Playing modally is a real challenge for your ears at times.

toggletoggle post by Beorht-Dana  at Dec 7,2006 11:18pm
Alternate types of scales, composing, arranging, jazz theory...I dunno, I'm just throwing ideas out there.

toggletoggle post by brian_dc  at Dec 7,2006 11:20pm
yeah, that's true. Think outside of the scalar box, I suppose. Learning about composition really helped me in every aspect of my playing and musical maturity in general.

toggletoggle post by eddie  at Dec 7,2006 11:21pm
i have all the modes, i'll check out this whole tone you speak of.

toggletoggle post by brian_dc  at Dec 7,2006 11:25pm
it's really simple, just all whole steps. The trick is finding a way to use it that isn't just goofy.

toggletoggle post by eddie  at Dec 7,2006 11:33pm
brian_dc said:
it's really simple, just all whole steps. The trick is finding a way to use it that isn't just goofy.

oh, so like G,A,B,C#,D#,F,G

i like that, its weird

whats the difference with the dimished/dimished one

toggletoggle post by brian_dc  at Dec 7,2006 11:49pm